Poughkeepsie IBM plant is mainframe hub for 50 years


By Craig Wolf – H. Bryson Ainsley, 85, of the Town of Washington, remembers his first day working in an IBM mailroom, Jan. 10, 1949.

“I remember the day because I had my sincere suit on and a quiet tie, and I wore my blue oxford button-down shirt. The boss called me in and said, ‘I just wanted to let you know, we wear white shirts in IBM.’ ”

He remembers the big bet that IBM made on the System/360.

“It was the entire IBM treasure gambled on this one system,” he said.

The cost then was $5 billion to develop it. In today’s dollars, that’s about $38 billion. more> http://tinyurl.com/pjn26tk

Related>

Leave a Reply

